Blogging Awards!

Hello all! This week has been very interesting. I’ve been getting behind a bit in my writing since my husband has gone back to truck driving, but now that I’m getting the hang of things it seems I am getting back on track! 

Recently I was nominated for two blogging awards-Sisterhood of the World Blogging Award and the Liebster Award.  You’ve know idea how much that means to me! I am so very very grateful to Irion from Diapers to Potty and Brittany from And I Quote Blog for the Sisterhood of the World Blogging Award nominations, and to Thomasina from Three Lives of Me for the Liebster Award nomination. I am really very touched ladies, thank you!

Both awards are presented to bloggers from their peers in order to bring some well deserved attention to up and coming blogs.

image

For the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award you must follow these rules:

1.  Thank the blogger who nominated you and link back to their site.
2.  Answer the 10 questions sent to you.
3.  Make up 10 new questions for your nominees to answer.
4.  Nominate 8 other bloggers, link them in your post and notify them of their nomination

My Questions:

1.  How long have you been blogging?

I have made attempts to start various blogs of and on over the years, but up until a few months ago this is my first time semi-successfully sticking with it.

2.  What are your long term goals for your blog?

Honestly, I really want to gather more of a following, monetize my blog, and use the it as motivation to finish and publish my book(s).

3.  What do you love about blogging?

I love having the freedom to write about anything I like and the ability it affords me to connect with so many like-minded individuals.

4.  And what do you hate, or at least just dislike?

About blogging?  Not really anything, except maybe the cost of some premium services lol and spammers of course.

5.  Do you have children and do they influence your blog?

Oh yes, I definitely have children-four children all under three years of age and all 14 months apart. A girl, twin boys, and a baby boy. They are a large part of my inspiration for blogging-I love chronicling my life with them but I enjoy writing about other things as well.

6.  What is one thing you have learned about blogging that you never would have thought of before hand?

I never imagined the importance of networking and social media when it comes to the land of blogs!

7.  What are your hobbies outside of your blog?

Reading and writing are biggies, I’m a Tolkien fanatic, I love cooking for my family, and I definitely have a great love of all things nature!

8.  Are there any bloggers that you aspire to be like?

So far I would love to be like Kim Seghers from This Ole Mom or Amy Nielson from Planning Playtime-they both seem to have a pretty solid following and have this networking thing figured out.

9.  How do you juggle being a mom along with all of your other roles?

Oh it isn’t easy-being a mom is full time and tends to consume every adjective of your life. It’s a constant struggle to maintain your identity as a wife, a mother, a writer, and a woman individually. I have to make myself make time for the other parts of me. It really all boils down to scheduling and organization.

10.  Tell me one thing about yourself that most of your readers do not know.

I was adopted at age two by the most amazing couple in the world. I couldn’t be more blessed, nor could I ask for better parents.  They helped me become the woman I am today, and I will forever be grateful for their love, guidance, and support.

image

The

Nominees Are:

Bridget Lund from The Recipe Wench

Amy Nielson from Planning Playtime

Andrea from Three Little Apples

Irene from Working Mom Dish

Crafty Frugal Mom

Poppies and Pinot

Chronicles of a Lumpy Person

Holly Bertone at  The Coconut Heads Survival Guide

Here are the rules for the Liebster Award:

1. Recognize the blogger who nominated you

2. Post the Liebster Award badge

3. Write 11 facts about yourself

4. Nominate 11 bloggers (with fewer than 1,000 followers) who you feel deserve the award

5. Answer the 11 questions posted by the previous Liebster Award nominee

6. Write 11 questions for the bloggers that you nominate! (again sticking with a few)

11 Facts:

1.  I was born in Southern Maryland and raised there until I was thirteen, when my father changed jobs and moved us to the deep South-first to Florida for two years and then the remainder was spent in Mississippi.

2. I am a nerd- I absolutely love all things Tolkien and Rowling-and that love has been instilled in my daughter. lol at two and a half years old she already begs me to watch the Lord of the Rings or Hobbit! I am so proud!

3. If I had the money I would have a house with a library in it just like the one in the castle in Beauty and the Beast.

4.  I am of Irish decent and in my free time (which is unfortunately nit often enough) pour over ancient Irish history and the Gaelic languages.

5.  I am in favor of breastfeeding 100%, though I know it isn’t possible for everyone because circumstances vary greatly.  I was able to breastfeed my first child for several months before supplementing with formula, with the twins I tried to breastfeed but was unable to establish a supply, and with my youngest son I have been happily breastfeeding from the start quite successfully!

6.  I have had one natural birth and two unplanned c-sections-my twins and youngest son both came about five weeks early.

7. I aspire to be a successful published author.

8.  I am on a journey to reach a happier, healthier me, in all aspects of my life-not just the baby weight.

9. I struggle with organization and procrastination-two things I am desperately working on.

10.  I love a cup of tea and a good book on a rainy day.

11.  I try to be the best I can be in every role I have-Mom, Wife, Writer, and Woman.

11 questions:

1.  What motivates you more than anything else?

My family. Creating a safe, stable, loving environment for them motivates me always.

2.  Would you consider yourself a mamma’s girl/boy or a daddy’s girl/boy?

I am definitely a daddy’s girl.  I have always been one. Through good times and bad my dad and I have always been super close-he means the world to me.

3.  If you could wake up tomorrow morning and have one thing different, what would it be?

A paid off home with at least 5 bedrooms and at least six figures in the savings account-oh wait, just one thing? Then add some more figures to the bank account lol.

4.  Do you have siblings? Tell us about them.

I have 3 biological sisters and 1 stepbrother via adoption.  I have known my eldest sister all of my life and try to maintain a close relationship though we were adopted by different families. My other two younger sisters I didn’t even know existed until I was nearly 20.  And my brother is twice my age with a family of his own, though we’ve never been that close.

5.  Who is your favorite person to be with?

I would have to say my husband.  I married my best friend and I really prefer his company to anyone else.

6.  What type of music makes you the happiest?

Hmm.  I think country love songs and upbeat pop/hip-hop.  Anything really with a good beat and positive lyrics!

7.  Do you prefer to be inside or outside?

I love both actually-a rainy day spent cuddled inside or a crisp autumn day hiking through the park makes me equally has happy.

8.  If someone really important was coming over to your house and you had just enough time to either (a) clean your very messy house, or (b) get ready after a very sweaty workout; which would you choose?

Well that’s cruel…I suppose I would do the stash and hide cleaning method and try to attempt a quickie shower-just enough to get the sweat off lol. I refuse to accept I can’t accomplish both lol.

9.  What is your bedtime routine?

I get the kids finished with dinner, get them bathed, lay them down with kisses and hugs, then I stay up to talk to Daddy-attempt to get some blogging done and tidy up the kitchen, fold laundry, watch TV half-heartedly, then nurse the youngest and lay him down then I lay down. Lol.

10.  What is your comfort food? Who makes it the best?

This is a toughy-I would have to say shrimp fried rice. My husband makes it better than the restaurant! It is definitely the bomb dot com lol.

11.  As a child, what did you always dream about? {location, occupation, lifestyle…}

I always dreamt of being a successful author, having a house in Ireland, where I would live with my handsome husband and beautiful children-so far the last bit has come true so I am remaining positive about the rest!

The nominees are

Yanique Chambers from Kiddie Matters

JcCee Watkins Barney

Jodi Tendler Vitali from Easy Peasy Mom

Ashleigh Wright Haslinger from Simply Wright

Kathy Herbig from Herbs and Spice and Other Things Nice

Mary la Fornara Gutierrez from It’s All About the Yummy

Jillian McClenahan from Jillianastasia

Jessica McQuillian from House of J Chronicles

Sara Kaufer from Shabby Grace Blog

Mary Gilbert from My Life in Progress

Jenny Farmer from Chocolate and Children

3 thoughts on “Blogging Awards!

  1. Thanks so much for the nomination!! I agree with you a thousand times about knowing about social media and networking in the blog world. Sometimes it seems like I am spending more time with that part of blogging than writing blog posts. I struggled with organization & procrastination also. A cup of tea and a good book sounds nice. I am in favor of breastfeeding also. I breastfed all of my children. I have enjoyed getting to know you through this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lydiaf1963 says:

    Congratulations on your awards! I remember my first Liebster Award is was so validating! I’m sure your nominees are feeling the love, too. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

