Just a Touch of Courage

image

I have been having trouble with my energy levels lately, and have generally just been feeling kind of blah. Yes, I am super busy with the kids but I’ve noticed it has been so much more than that-and, I know why.

All of the junk I’ve been eating lately has really had a negative impact on my energy levels, and overall feelings of well-being-and my waistline, go figure. I touched on this a few posts ago, and have made some minor adjustments-like cutting out sodas-but, I think I need to be more aggressive if I want to see and feel some results. 

That being said, today I am going to give this sugar and caffeine detox thing a try. No sugar period, including artificial sweeteners. I am only going to drink water, and unsweetened decaffeinated coffee and teas.  I am feeling really good about this. I remember how great I felt after my first child was born and I completed the same detox. I want to feel like that again and I know what I have to do!

I’ve also stocked up on some healthy snacks and meal options including:

-almonds
-almond butter
-hummus
-celery
-baby carrots
-broccoli florets
-grapes
-oranges
-Greek yogurt
-chicken breast
-salmon
-eggs
-whole wheat bread
-whole wheat tortillas

I am terrible about skipping meals and just snacking on random junk throughout the day. I am determined to make myself eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner with healthy snacks in between. Determined.

Also, don’t make fun of me- but I am start-well truthfully re-starting Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred DVD today. The last time I think I barely completed 2 days. I want to be healthy though-for me and for my family. I am a little shy but I am considering posting a before pic along with this post to help me stay motivated and accountable. We’ll see by the time I finish this post lol.

Honestly I am kind of excited about this. I know I can do it, I’ve just never really put the effort in before. I know the kids will definitely enjoy this journey too-they find watching me jump around and do all of the exercises on the DVD hilarious. Hey, if they are happy, I am happy!

image

Oh wow. I’ve never been brave enough to take a picture like that. I won’t even let my husband take pics at the beach! That’s over now. I am going to own my mom bod. And just focus on creating a healthy lifestyle and however that effects my body-we call see! Positive and happy all the way!

19 thoughts on “Just a Touch of Courage

  1. I am so proud of you and jealous that you are brave to show your body and I so happy for you! I am so scared to do that!! I also have been eating awful and it’s been slowing me down and my poor waistline …uggh! Thank you for sharing this and the list of healthy snacks !!! You go girl!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Celebrating your courage, both to take pictures that make you uncomfortable and to make big changes in your lifestyle. Worthwhile endeavor are rarely easy 😉 Looking forward to hearing more about your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much for sharing your story! It takes courage to show ourselves (both literally and figuratively) and to make changes in it life. Celebrating your courage, and looking forward to hearing more about your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. poppiesandpinot says:

    Love to you! I cut out sodas, fast food and ice cream when I turned twenty and I lost like 30 lbs. But that was pre-kids.

    I’m almost completely sugar free (ignoring the sugar in wine) and I LOVE IT. a lot of nutritionists believe we need to cut sugar, not fat out of our diet. So I have a nice big coffee with half and half, I don’t cut out the butter on my plate, I eat lots more greens and I feel pretty great. I cannot wait to see your updates!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your post caught my attention, because as a mom I’ve been there. Cutting out soda was the best thing I’ve ever done. Afterwards, I changed my diet to veggies, fruits, proteins, etc I also noticed that for me weights work better than cardio. Cardio good to maintain weight. Long story short I went from 230 to 158 I have three children my youngest 14months and I currently weigh 158 . I promised myself if we decide to have more children I would continue working out and eating healthy. You can do this the most important thing is the effort!
    Kudos to you for sharing your journey!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great ideas about cutting out the processed foods, it’s one of the most important things you can do for yourself and well done for posting the photos! We all need to be more accepting of our mum bods 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Kaitie Creator of Fuchisa Freezer says:

    Good for you! I’m due with my third, and seriously want to get back into it, and it’s hard with kids and life and exhaustion… but keep going. Day 1 and day 2 are always the hardest… keep going and you will see success!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is so inspiring! Good for you on getting so devoted to your plan! I’ll be rooting for you! I just started doing small things as well like drinking more water, avoiding soda and eating more fruits and veggies, so now I’m picking up with exercise at least 4 times a week! So I hope your detox goes really well for you! I’m jealous of your skills to fight the urge for sugar! Lol! 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing the beginning of your journey!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pinspiration Mommy says:

    Great list of health foods! I commend you for trying to improve eating habits for your health! I really need to watch my sugar intake, it’s just so difficult since it seems everything has sugar in it (and it just tastes so darn good)! I wish you the best!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Good for you!! It is so incredibly difficult to eat healthy these days with all of the amazing crap available to us but you will feel 1000% better once you start eating healthier. I recently started my husband on this path and he feels so much better and even has more energy to work out! Proud of you and can’t wait to follow your journey!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

