Image

2015 in Review

image

It has certainly been quite some time since I posted anything. I’m sorry for that especially to myself. So much has happened this past year I am not even sure where to begin.

Several months ago my husband  (a truck driver) suffered a back injury that forced him to come off of the road. He has desperately been trying to find work but it has been difficult, to say the least.  We live in a very rural area and any jobs would be 40 miles one way. I tried to help by taking a second job but my health became an issue.

A few months ago I began having episodes at work- after multiple trips to the ER with zero answers Mt husband chose to take me nearly three hours north to one of the most respected hospitals in the state so that I could, hopefully, see a neurologist and get some much needed answers.

While there an EEG was performed and it was determined that I have epilepsy. As overwhelming as that is I am so grateful to have an answer. I was placed on an anti-seizure medication called Keppra-750 MG every 12 hours. For the time being I am not to be left alone for an extended period of time and have been forbidden to drive for a minimum of 6 months from my last seizure.

These restrictions have been very trying-on me, on my husband, and on our children. I was unable to work for several weeks, causing even more financial strain. I’m not going to lie, our family has been under a lot of stress emotionally, medically, and financially. We’ve had to reach out to others for help which has definitely caused a huge blow to both my pride as well as my husbands. By the end of 2015 everything was looking incredibly dark.

But you know what? It wasn’t all bad. In February 2015 I gave birth to a healthy baby boy-though he was 5 weeks early. He is so handsome and fun and full of love and light. He and his brothers and sister mean the world to me. They are the reason why I will never give up, the same can be said for my husband. Failure is not an option.

My husband is doing everything he can to be cleared to go back onto the road and I am doing everything I can to learn how to manage my epilepsy and continue to work safely. It isn’t easy but it is what we have to do.  I refuse to lose our home, I refuse to be defeated by this. Our family is going to come through this surrounded by light and by the end of 2016 we will be stabilized. I know it.

Also, I am eternally grateful to those that have tried to help us and stood by us through everything. Thank you all.

Donate to Help the Dunn Family

12 thoughts on “2015 in Review

  1. I’m so sorry to hear that you and your family are having a hard time. Nothing stresses a family out like a loss of an income and poor health. I admire your courage and perseverance They say you can tell a lot about a person’s character based on how they behave when they are going through it. You are showing us and your family just what you are made of. I know things will improve for your family and I hope you continue to find the strength to fight the good fight. Keeping you all in my thoughts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • H.R. Dunn says:

      Thank you very much, that truly means a lot to me. I know we will make it through all of this. I am trying my best to stay positive and tough.

      Like

  2. I am so sorry to hear about all that happened to you in 2015. What a stressful time for all of you. I think you have the right attitude coming into this year, and I hope that it will pull you through! Wishing you all nothing but happiness, health and success for this new year!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Allison (funfamily.vacations) says:

    I am sorry to hear about your stresses. Health and financial issues are always a strain. I will be keeping you in our thoughts that things get better for you and your family in 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

    • H.R. Dunn says:

      Thank you so much. The meds took a few weeks to get into my system. During that time I felt like a zombie. It was truly terrible and I am so grateful that it didn’t stay that way. At least now I can function a lot better.

      Like

      • For me, I became zombied as well, in addition to overly emotional and developing suicidal thoughts. It’s the first time I ever hit someone. Instead of curing the migraine, I felt like I had two headaches simultaneously. I’m especially grateful for your sake and the kiddos that you’re taking to it so well!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Kaitie Creator of Fuchisa Freezer says:

    I am so sorry to hear about this. I can’t even begin to imagine what life would look like after finding out something like that. I will how ever give you standing ovation for your determination to to allow this to control your family, or you. It’s always hard to have to take something unexpected on, and somehow manage to keep a semblance of ‘normal’ for everyone else (when you have kids so their lives aren’t totally turned upside down). As parents we always tend to take the brunt of everything. In october my Dad had a workplace accident (long story short, he had a 1,500 lb dump truck door swing open and pin him between the door and the truck. This left him with a ruptured spleen, serious issues to his pancreas, and host of other issues). By mid-november he was able to come home but hasn’t done well, and been back and forth to the hospital since – at this point, he’s at visit #7. Christmas Day I went with my mom to visit him. I can understand how something so unexpected can really change the course of your life. I hope and wish nothing but success and happiness for you and your family in 2016 and beyond. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • H.R. Dunn says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words and understanding. I am so sorry for your father’s troubles. I wish your family success and happiness for this year as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

